Happiness

What does it mean to be happy?

Are you happy?

Are these questions silly, or important? Why all the happy talk?

Because happiness is the truth!

But it all seriousness, I like to take some time to reflect on my happiness. Not because I am unhappy
I’m actually feeling pretty satisfied in my life right now. But sometimes it’s easy to get in a rut, and I need to be reminded of all the good things in my life. I few years ago, I read the book “The Happiness Project” for book club. I enjoyed the book a lot more than I thought I would, and more than the other girls. The author reflects on the “splendid truths”, or sort of mantras, or points of reflection.

I really like the first one.

“To be happier, you have to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth”Gretchen Rubin

what makes me feel good? I feel good when I have completed a project. My husband, my family, and my cat make me feel good. I feel good when I look nice. I enjoy running (finishing, and doing well it). Nothing feels better than a beautiful spring day. I love the feeling I get after a great workout.

what makes me feel bad?I am frustrated by a feeling of uncertainty in our current living situation. I feel anxious about my job. Clutter irritates me. Money makes me angry, and anxious.

It feels good to reflect on these points! If I feel sad or anxious, I try to break it down to basics and remember what it is that is making me feel bad- and not forget what also makes me feel good.

what cheers you up when you’re feeling down? What makes you feel good??

Leave a Reply

