Where have I been?! + Priorities

WOW, it’s been a while!! What happened?!

You guys, I got caught up in a whirlwind at work. It started three weeks ago (when I last posted). Basically, the main PT in the area where I work left suddenly, and I inherited a huge new job responsibility (plus doing the job of 2 people) on a very busy week. I didn’t leave before 630 that entire week- not to mention my car was in the shop and my poor husband was stuck driving me everywhere.

Things have calmed down a little, I’m easing into my new role, and we aren’t so busy. I think I’m going to be able to handle it, things are just very different.

Luckily, that very busy week ended early, and we headed to Savannah to celebrate the wedding of some of our closest friends. It was one of those perfect weekends- lots of nice relaxing time with people you love. I almost cried when we were getting back on the highway!!

This is where I are really fell off of the blogging bandwagon. I should have caught up then, but I felt too far behind. I’ve stayed pretty busy since then, but I’m back now.

What else is new??

workouts/running: As you can guess, things took a turn for the worse on my crazy week. I ran once. I eased back into it the next week, but haven’t run more than 2-3 times/week since. And until today, I had done no strength or cross training. I promise I wasn’t being lazy either- I just felt like I had no free time. We forced ourselves out of bed to the gym at 6AM today. Im getting sleepy now, but it was so worth it to feel like I have accomplished something, and have more time this evening.

Today: stationary bike x 10 minutes. elliptical x 10 minutes. And 0.25 miles x 4 with “rest breaks” between laps to complete a total of the following: crunches 5 x 10, pushups 5 x 10, and squats 5 x 10. I wouldn’t want to overdo it now, it was my first day back 😉

husband has been studying like crazy for a certification exam (fingers crossed, and more details if he passes!) This has made me more busy, because I’m trying not to ask him to do anything! The more free time he has to study, the better. One more week!

The homefront:
THIS is where all of my energy has been going. When my husband got a new job recently, we considered (again) buying a home. But, in our neighborhood, in our price range, that would be a tiny 2 bedroom condo, and most things we have seen are very similar to what we have now. It’s hard to decide if we want to put a lot of money into something we may like less than what we currently have, but on the other hand we are getting tired of renting. Ah, being a grown up.

So for now, and at least for a few more months, we’re sticking it out here. We love our apartment, and our neighborhood, but I’m starting to feel a little cramped. Cramped because we have too much stuff. Not enough storage, so things overflow into corners. You can’t have everything in its place when everything does not have a place, ya know?! When I get stressed about our apartment being in disarray, it isn’t pretty. But the reality is, we live in a tiny apartment.

You might have seen where I was going with this… Basically I am in super clean/rearrange/organize mode. My first big project, which I actually did a few weeks ago, was cleaning our office. I turned our filing cabinet/desk space into a usable area! This was actually a technique I used to procrastinate on filing my taxes (finally finished last night… I don’t want to talk about it.) It’s been 3 ish weeks, and we haven’t junked it back up yet! This is carrying over to keeping our mail area more organized as well, because I actually know what to do with bills when they arrive- imagine that!

I have also made some progress reorganizing the linen closet, and opened up a whole shelf for my husband to store empty beer bottles (for future homebrew) that had previously lived in the corner of my bedroom. I’ve donated some clothes, and kept my bedroom neat for the better part of a week.

But by far, my biggest accomplishment, was coming up with a system. I have a list of daily tasks, and then other big projects I hope to accomplish in the upcoming weeks/months. The daily tasks are not intended to be stressful, but to actually minimize stress by splitting things up. Prior to this schedule, I have attempted to to laundry tues/thurs/sun, I wipe down the sink in the bathroom a few times a week, And do a decent job cleaning the kitchen daily. Tasks like floors, deep cleaning the bathroom, and general clutter just overwhelm me on a regular basis, and I have a “only do it if it really needs to be done or we are having guests over” policy. Not cool.

weekly schedule
daily: Wipe down bathroom, wipe down kitchen surfaces and sweep kitchen floor.
Monday: Nothing else!
Tuesday: Sweep all rooms, 1 load laundry
Wednesday: Clean toilets/tub, declutter and dust whole house
Thursday: Sweep bathroom, 1 load laundry
Friday/Saturday: Declutter whole house and clean all surfaces (kitchen), sweep and mop all floors.
Sunday Laundry x 2, finish weekend tasks, projects.

I’m not going to lie, Friday/Saturday still kind of intimidates me. But honestly, if I keep up during the week, it shouldn’t be that bad!! More on other upcoming projects soon, but my goal for this week is to get in the routine of daily cleaning.

Speaking of which, it’s time to go sweep the floors! (and I don’t feel stressed about it at all!!)

do you have a weekly system for keeping track of chores/household duties?

how do you prioritize home duties vs working out?

Leave a Reply

