Weekend recap and weekly workouts

What a weekend!!
We kicked off the weekend with happy hour on our patio- where we split a bottle of prosecco!

20140316-194308.jpg
Brandon + Charlemagne

Why the prosecco? Why such happy faces?! We were celebrating Friday, because Brandon got a new job!! Let me tell you, this has been a long time coming, and it’s very big, very exciting news. He is working with a small nonprofit, with data and grants. Sounds boring to me, but it’s a perfect position for him. So, cheers!!

After our happy hour, we picked up my race number for Saturday morning, and headed to our favorite Thai restaurant in downtown Decatur to continue our celebrations.

Luckily, my race didn’t start until 915 🙂 We got to sleep in a little Saturday morning (unusual for a race day, but MUCH appreciated!!) and headed to the start line. I want to share all about the race now- but it deserves a full recap of its own, hopefully early this week. But- it went better, WAY better than anticipated. I blew my time goals away, and actually PRed- 24:30. Oh, and did I mention that I got second place in my age group?! have a lot of questions about how that was possible, but I’ll reflect more on than in my recap.

20140316-201745.jpg

Post race treat- a vegan chocolate peanut butter banana fritter. Whaaaat?! Don’t mind if I do.

After stuffing our face on vegan donuts, we headed home, cleaned up, and met friends for brunch at Ria’s. I picked something different off the menu, and was pleasantly surprised. It was described as an “Fritatta”- egg free and cornmeal crusted. I had no idea what to expect, but it was a tofu quiche, and I was be back for more. Next time, I’ll remember to snap a photo!!

After a nap, We met a friend for dinner and drinks. It was a full, fun, one day weekend- I unfortunately had to work today. Sometimes I’m really bitter about a 1 day weekend, but I really made it work yesterday!!

Brandon starts his new job tomorrow (!!!!), so we had a pretty relaxing evening tonight. We went for a long walk around the neighborhood, and did 2 YouTube yoga videos. My hips are a little sore from the race!!

workouts

This week I was focused on prepped for the race, and (I guess?!) it payed off!!
Monday: 2 mile walk
Tuesday: 2.5 mile run with hamstring pain, 8:30 pace
Wednesday 2 mile walk
Thursday: 5k run, 26:42
Friday:~1 mile leisurely stroll in the neighborhood
Saturday: Tour DeCatur 5k race- 24:30
Sunday: 2.5 mile walk, 45 minutes yoga

I’m proud of us for doing something active everyday last week. This week I want to focus on getting back into my strengthening routine (where have my push ups and crunches gone?!) and go to the Y at least once! Maybe I even need a early morning swim?
But not tomorrow. I not only have to be at work at 7, I have to be camera ready for a marketing video.

Happy Sunday!!

Did you race this weekend?

Leave a Reply

